Modern Language: Is a two-year certificate overkill?

Salvete

I'm a returning adult student, aiming for a PhD in Classics, and hope to get funding.

I've currently signed up for a p/t diploma in Attic Greek (2nd and 3rd year), since Covid has hampered my overseas application plans. While I'm doing this, I also have the option of studying German for 2 years, earning a Certificate of Languages. Is it worth it, or overkill to meet modern language requirements?

I already have Uni courses in modern Italian (2 years/4 terms) and Latin (3 years/6 terms).

Been working as a foreign lang teacher myself for several years now and I often hear similar things from ppl who want to start classes.

What exactly do you want to accomplish with this certificate and why this certificate and not another?

I need to be able to read German secondary scholarship. Some of the historical scholarship I want to read is from the late 19th century, and I've been warned that the language from that period can deviate from contemporary German. It's all a little intimidating.

A uni certificate is around the same cost as coursework with the Goethe Society. However, the latter is more flexible. Not sure what's the better approach for someone who only wants to read secondary literature.

In other words, it doesn't matter where you ll study or what certificate you'll get but to learn German that allows you to read German non-fiction books from the 19th cent.

I have to be honest here, if you are applying to start a PhD in 2022-3 and have no prior knowledge of German, it will be very hard to learn enough German to make an impact while you are writing your PhD. Getting to a level that allows you to read 19th century philology books requires many hundreds of hours of serious study, by the time you ve accomplished this you ll be deep in the writing of your PhD. In terms of cost-benefit, I think it's not worth it.