International student - Re-apply on not to re-apply?

catherine666

Hello everyone! 

This cycle's been tough by so far. Me myself was shocked by the results and frustrated. I've been accepted to one good program in the top-100 of national schools. The fit is great, and the POI is absolutely brilliant researcher and educator. But I cannot leave the thought that I could do better. I had two public schools in mind (in the Midwest) where I really dreamed to go. I think my biggest mistake was SOP, and I'm going to work on it to show better fit and publish articles (I currently have three co-authored articles published). 

So, my current academic advisor strongly recommends me to re-apply this year and offers full support (like keeping to pay me, because I am an international student in my current place now; help to publish and collaborate with American professors). On my side, I have additional resources to invest in application fees and TOEFL, perspectives to publish as a first author an article or even two (I am almost done...).  

On the other hand, my father is against the reapplication and wants me just accept the current offer. His argument is that the economy is going worse and worse, so it is important to accept a chance that is given to me right now. He thinks that universities might significantly reduce the funding for PhDs or just stop accept international students (lol). I must admit that I'm not good at economic predictions,  but this seems to me too radical. Like what university or program would stop to accept international students over a year?? Huh? 

What are your thoughts? 

And one more problem. Due to visa problems I am now enrolled in PhD program in my current university. Is it true that universities don't care if you are already PhD student somewhere? 

Thank you in advance! And wish everyone good luck!

Hello! I'm sorry to hear that this cycle's been tough so far. I think a lot of us empathize with that.