Unsure what to do about prerequisites and applying to grad school

Background: I have my bachelor in psychology and started becoming interested in SLP. After getting accepted into a program through university of colorado boulder to get prerequisites for SLP, I realized through researching a BUNCH of online Master SLP programs that they all require different prerequisites on top of ASHAs requirements (duh) to even apply. I don’t have physics or chemistry in my transcript but do have the others ASHA needs. I’m getting so discouraged thinking that trying this without a bachelors degree in communication science is going to be extremely difficult. I would need an Online masters program to get into because I am a mom and my husband already works grueling hours and I find being able to do most of it online would help me out a lot. I don’t even know if this is worth it anymore, I guess I’m just seeing if anyone else has been through this and has applied and got accepted with only certain prerequisites versus having exact 100% what the school needs. I am struggling. Thank you in advance!

Hi! I come from a Linguistics background and I understand your struggle. However, I just got acceptances to my top programs!

If you are struggling with prerequisites, look at course equivalencies and see if anything can double-count or if you can apply and finish the prerequisite after you get accepted. You can also reach out to admissions officers and ask if the courses you're currently taking/have taken count as certain classes. For example, some programs require a Hearing Science course, but that is often covered in an Intro to Audiology course already.

I also recommend online programs with fewer or no prerequisites, such as Speech@NYU. I personally only took a few prerequisites (Intro to Audiology, Anat & Phys, Language Dev, Speech Science, Aural Rehab). Feel free to PM me if you have any questions!

Edited by Angela Ding

2 hours ago, Angela Ding said: