UChicago Harris vs Georgetown McCourt MPP. I cannot decide :-(

atover

Okay just about 48 hrs till the decision deadline and I am totally torn between UChicago Harris and Georgetown McCourt. I want to focus on education policy and I’m debating what exactly I want to do after but I know I don’t want a PHD. 

Harris Pros

- they have me the best funding (40,000)

- I really liked the school when I went to accepted students day last weekend.

- they seem to have more of a focus on domestic policy and there seem to be a lot of opportunities for education policy.

Harris Con

- I don’t really like Chicago and I’m a little concerned about safety on and around the UChicago Campus. 

-Math Camp and Coding: I’m not good at math and don’t have a quant background. I got an A in college stats but that’s the only math I’ve taken since HS. 

- it’s further away from home. 

McCourt Pro

- I like that the school seems really plugged into DC. I might want to go into politics one day and I think there might be better internships 

- I’m interested in the DC consortium and being able to take classes at other local schools 

- I was really interested in the presentation from GU politics during admitted students day

- They have a new graduate housing building with a free shuttle and included utilities which is a big perk.

- it’s closer to where I live now (Boston area) and I have some extended family and a friend in town already. Making friends as an adult sucks lol

McCourt Cons

- there didn’t seem to be as much of a focus on education policy there and that is my focus area.

- they gave me less money (19,000 vs 40,000) 

I am honestly so torn I’m about to just flip a coin and be done with this. ?

1 hour ago, atover said:

Okay just about 48 hrs till the decision deadline and I am totally torn between UChicago Harris and Georgetown McCourt. I want to focus on education policy and I’m debating what exactly I want to do after but I know I don’t want a PHD. 

Harris Pros