Retake GRE again? Lower score than previous attempt (Sub 1000)

I have now taken my GRE a third time, and surprisingly my score dropped. No excuses, but I really sucked it up. Previously I split both sections 460/470, but this time my scores were Q: 350, and V: 460. I feel like my writing will up from the previous 4.0, but will have to wait a few weeks to find out.

I met with two schools at AEJMC, and both were really impressed, even given my low GRE. I have 10+ years of professional experience, starting my 2nd semester of teaching upper level courses, and have a 3.8 GPA. The schools are not top tier, but still good enough schools that I can get a job upon graduation. I have focused in profs at each university who's research I want to tie into, and have personally met with them.

Will these schools take the highest score from each section, or average them? Should I honestly retry and take this stupid test again, even though I don't feel like I'll do better?

I took the test YEARS ago, but what I read back then was that taking the test several times in a short (let's say 1 year) time frame and doing worse can sometimes look bad. However, I believe that the school will see all your scores, and if the first two were pretty consistent, than the school should be able to see that. However, I could be wrong. Can anyone else confirm?

BTW, your research interests are very interesting. I am in a PhD program in Literacy, and my focus is visual literacy.

I took the test YEARS ago, but what I read back then was that taking the test several times in a short (let's say 1 year) time frame and doing worse can sometimes look bad. However, I believe that the school will see all your scores, and if the first two were pretty consistent, than the school should be able to see that. However, I could be wrong. Can anyone else confirm?

BTW, your research interests are very interesting. I am in a PhD program in Literacy, and my focus is visual literacy.