GRE retake

assad62

Hi,

I was hoping someone could help me here. I have an undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering from University of Nottingham with a C average sadly :mellow:. I am now pursuing masters in computer science from a local university in Pakistan...where 6 months down the track im on a 3.5/4 gpa thankfully.

Now, I would like to proceed and eventually do Phd in CS from either Northwestern, Ohio State, Virginia Tech, Carnegie Mellon or if none of these then Rochester Institute of Technology. My GRE scores are as follows

V: 510

Q: 690

A.W: 4

Now, given that my masters degree will be from a less known university, and I have fairly low grades in undergrad.....should I go ahead and give GRE again? I am confident I can increase by atleast 100-150 points since when i gave it before I was in the midst of submitting my undergrad dissertation and final exams.

Thank You in advance.

Edited by assad62

I would definitely retake it. You will be needing to as near as (if not exactly) 800 Quant as you can if you're looking at Computer Science. A perfect score isn't even the 99th percentile so many people ace it, so to be realistic, you should look at really hitting it again.

I recommend this book:

http://www.amazon.com/Kaplan-GRE-Exam-Advanced-Math/dp/1607144972/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1281996391&sr=1-3

I would definitely retake it. You will be needing to as near as (if not exactly) 800 Quant as you can if you're looking at Computer Science. A perfect score isn't even the 99th percentile so many people ace it, so to be realistic, you should look at really hitting it again.

I recommend this book:

http://www.amazon.co...81996391&sr=1-3

Thank you for your reply. How about the verbal score? should 510 suffice?

Yeah...

510 is a little low. 600 or above would be a lot better, but it usually won't be a deal breaker in CS programs, but since you have a pretty low undergrad GPA, it probably would be a good idea to study for that to...