More letters than required?

Bennet

I have the opposite problem of most people with LORs because I go to a very small college where I'm basically friends with my professors and I've had them all for multiple classes. So instead of not knowing who to ask, I have too many to ask, and all have told me that they want to write an LOR for me. I know I want the professor I've worked with on my independent study to write me one because he was just promoted to Dean of Academic Affairs so that will look great, but I have three other professors who all have their PhDs in the field I'm going into (one of which was also the faculty advisor for the school newspaper, where I was features editor for two years), as well as my supervisor for my internship last fall, and the professor I studied abroad with this summer who absolutely loved me and I know will have a lot of great things to say, but she's a literature professor whereas I'm going into Rhetoric and Composition.

So what should I do? Most schools require three, but some of mine only require two letters of recommendation...would it work against me to send them more letters than they asked for? I had one professor say "send as many as possible to show them how many professors have enjoyed working with you and believe in your academic abilities" but at the same time, I feel like it's possibly that schools would get annoyed with receiving more letters than they asked for because they have so many applications to go through.

So which is it? Send the limit so as not to overwhelm them, or send 4-5 to impress them?

Sending 4-5 won't impress them, it'll annoy them.

If you're really worried about saying "no" to a professor, then just have some write for some schools and others write for other schools.

However, remember, this is a good problem to have. :P

I'm going to disagree with Tskinner on this.