can you transfer clinical psychology phd programs? what to do when your mentor leaves

Hi everyone, 

Looking for some advice. I recently found out my research mentor at my current program (clinical psych phd, apa on contingency) is leaving the university. The only real option my program has given me is to join another lab/mentor. However, there are no other labs/mentors who do the same type of research that I am doing. I am a second year student who already has their dissertation outlined and am applying for funding. I fear if I go to a different lab I won't be able to conduct research 1) that I want to do and 2) if doing research in other fields harm me in terms of finding a job in the future. 

I was wondering if anyone has experience or advice on the following:

1. having a research mentor who is not apart of the university (continue with course work and program materials at my current program but have a research mentor at a different university)
  2. transferring programs (without having to reapply, would credits transfer or would I have to start over)?

Any advice or insight is greatly appreciated!!!

Edited by clinicalpsych2022_advice

• clinicalpsych2022_advice changed the title to can you transfer clinical psychology phd programs? what to do when your mentor leaves

Hello there,

Sorry to hear about your mentor. 

Unfortunately in these cases there isn't an easy answer. The path of least resistance would probably be finding some common ground with a faculty member already in your program and trying to blend your research interests. While it may take you away from your current interests, if you continue with an academic career you can always pivot back to the areas that most interest you.