University vs. Art School

Another

Any thoughts about attending a university as opposed to a dedicated art school?

I completed my BFA at SFAI in 2003, but now 6 out of the 7 schools applying to are universities.

Is there a fundamental difference in approach to university programs? Is the structure any different? Which do you prefer?

• 4 weeks later...

Any thoughts about attending a university as opposed to a dedicated art school?

I completed my BFA at SFAI in 2003, but now 6 out of the 7 schools applying to are universities.

Is there a fundamental difference in approach to university programs? Is the structure any different? Which do you prefer?

Hey there fellow SFAI'er...I graduated BFA in 2009. I have been to both university and art school. I much more prefer art school education to university, but I like university funding better. The reason is because it seems as if you are fully immersed into everything art at art school, WITH artists...at university in some classes you may have other grad students who have nothing to do with what you are going to the class for. This goes the same for the other way around, you have the opportunity to take classes in other "schools" within the university. So I don't know, I'm pretty much only applying to UCs for my MFA since the funding is so good and I'm interested in art at the UC level, I'm going to continue to do my thing even if it is a different atmosphere.

• 3 weeks later...