Critical Language Scholarship 2023 Applicants

Definol

On 10/15/2022 at 1:02 PM, Dramarama said:

I recieved the scholarship in 2015, so I'm thinking of applying again this year.

I'm also a second-time applicant with a long gap in between, I did mine in 2018 and now I'm a graduate student thinking of applying again. Best of luck!

6 hours ago, betamaz said:

I'm also a second-time applicant with a long gap in between, I did mine in 2018 and now I'm a graduate student thinking of applying again. Best of luck!

Oh wow yes I'm a grad student as well. Did you ever apply for the refresh award? What language are you going for. I'm applying for  Chinese 

14 hours ago, Dramarama said:

Oh wow yes I'm a grad student as well. Did you ever apply for the refresh award? What language are you going for. I'm applying for  Chinese 

I did Korean! I did apply for Refresh a few years ago but I wasn't selected. I taught English in Korea for a bit before starting grad school too. I feel like that might hurt my chances a bit though since ik they try to give preference to people with not as much previous study abroad experience.

On 10/21/2022 at 11:45 AM, betamaz said:

I did Korean! I did apply for Refresh a few years ago but I wasn't selected. I taught English in Korea for a bit before starting grad school too. I feel like that might hurt my chances a bit though since ik they try to give preference to people with not as much previous study abroad experience.

So I did get the refresh recently and wasn't sure if I was ineligible bc of it. But I will just apply and find out!

I'm applying! I did CLS Bangla virtually during COVID, then did Refresh last year. I'm a graduate student now (vs. when I did CLS before I was an undergrad), but since I don't have access to South Asian studies courses, have never been to South Asia, nor did I actually get to do CLS in person, I'm hoping my chances are pretty solid this year.