RN interested in clinical psych PhD

goth_phoebe_buffay

Hello, hello!

I am a recently-licensed registered nurse who has always been interested in clinical psychology. In undergrad, I majored in neuroscience and psychology (double major) with a minor in biology. I was also a sexual violence survivor support counselor while in undergrad (before COVID obliterated the role). I also conducted neuroscience research.

My plan at the time was to apply to PhD programs in clinical psychology, but when COVID hit, my psychology GRE was immediately cancelled, and the colleges I planned to apply to either still required the psych GRE or greatly limited their applications for most if not all PhD programs. So, I went into nursing instead and completed a one year accelerated nursing diploma program, which I recently completed. I'll be honest, money was a big factor. I figured that I could earn some cash for a couple years and build some support before applying while also waiting for clinical psych PhD programs to adapt to our new reality of COVID.

I plan to work a couple of years in psych as a registered nurse before applying. My question is - would this make me a good candidate, or would it worsen my chances? Would the programs automatically deny me since I am already a nurse, or could I make a good argument as to why I want to pursue clinical psychology and how I am a good candidate because of my diverse background? Any recommendations? I have looked into the psych mental health nurse practitioner role, but after my clinical rotations from nursing school, I just know that the clinical psychologist role is one that I would like more.