GRE scores and International students

mcmanos

Hi everyone,

Just did my first GRE earlier week, with somewhat dissapointing results: V570 (the lower end of my training's result spectrum), Q750, AWA still not in. I'm not from the US and English is not my mother tongue. I should also note that I'm currently an MA student in Political Science, aiming for the top tier PolSci departments in the US (applying this fall). I have research experience, TA experience, and I expect good recommendation letters, at least one from a well known professor in my sub-field of interest.

Now, as tempting as it may be, I'm going to avoid asking if this will get me in - I realize that a definite answer is simply not out there.

However, I was hoping that I could use your help in rationally assessing the possibility of a second rin (I still have time to take another exam in the upcoming weeks, come October).

Firstly, I wanted to ask your opinion of this result, assuming I aim quite high.

Secondly, I wanted to ask yout opinion on the importance of brilliant verbal results for international students. Is this really a problematic result for my background? Would an improvement of 30-50 points in the verbal, while surely positive, be of any acute importance?

Thirdly, I wanted to ask whether taking more than one test is taken to note by the schools. I'm finding it hard to evaluate the risks of receiving another good-not-brilliant grade, yet for the second time.

I would greatly appreciate any advice...

Your research experience and letters are of much more importance than your GRE scores, which are not terrible by the way and probably wouldn't be disqualifying from a top school. That said, if you feel you can score higher on the verbal, then go for it. A 600-650 looks a lot better than a 570 and you want to give yourself the best possible chance at a top school.