PhD Transfer: Math-> CS

meathead

Hey Guys,

I'm currently a first year math graduate student at a top 10 university. I've always had an interest in CS, but I decided to major in pure mathematics as an undergraduate.

I would like to study algorithms, complexity theory, and cryptography. I'm only interested in attending MIT, Harvard, Berkeley, Stanford, or Princeton. I only took one CS class as an undergraduate, but I've studied advanced algorithms in some graduate number theory classes. I have also attended an international workshop in algorithmic number theory. Because the areas that I am interested are essentially mathematical, I feel like I should have a good chance of transferring, but I would like you to shatter my dreams, if you have to, and give me your honest appraisal of my stats.

Graduate:

First year PhD student at top 10 mathematics university.

Undergraduate:

Decent state school.

Graduated top of class summa cum laude with honors in mathematics

4.00 GPA Math and 3.955 overall (out of 4.0).

Departmental award for Research

Best Undergraduate Award

Honors:

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship for Mathematics

one year Research Grant at my current university.

Phi Beta Kappa, Elected Junior Year

Research:

One published paper in Commutative Algebra in Prestigious Journal (lead author)

One REU which did not lead any where research-wise (but I can make it sound like it did)

6 presentations at conferences and seminars around the US and in Europe

Workshops:

Participated in international workshop in algorithmic number theory

I did not take the CS GRE subject exam; these universities don't require it.

Let me know if you need any more information.

Thanks!