MPP/MPA - waitlist? fellowship? loans?

desigrrl

Hi everyone,

I'm new on this site, joined with the hopes that you can give me some advice with my decision-making process, now that letters are in.

I was accepted to the following MPP/MPA programs:

Harvard Kennedy School (waiting on fellowship decisions)

NYU Wagner (waiting on fellowship decisions)

UCLA School of Public Affairs (awarded $10,000 for the first year)

Columbia SIPA (no fellowships)

UC Berkeley (no fellowships)

And I was waitlisted at Princeton Woodrow Wilson School (which offers full fellowship aid to most admitted students).

Some background on me:

I have a lot of credit card debt and undergrad loans and though I am paying it all down, I am not sure I want to take out more loans. I have been working full-time for 8 years and live in New York City. I have a good job working for the City, with great mentoring and definite room to move up. My entire career has been in the nonprofit and public sector...I do think about running for local office eventually, and realize that prestige is important in opening doors (though not the only factor). I went to Georgetown SFS for undergrad. I am also in a committed relationship, and my partner has decided not to move with me if I leave NYC. We could do long-distance NYC-Boston or NYC-NJ but I don't think we could survive NYC-CA for two years.

So here are my questions:

1. what do you think my chances are of getting into WWS off the wait list? it is my first choice, because of fellowship aid

2. if I don't get in to Princeton, and I don't get aid from Harvard, but I get a fellowship at NYU, should I go with the NYU fellowship, or take out loans to go to Harvard?

3. if I don't get in to Princeton, and I don't get aid from Harvard or NYU, is it worth it to take out loans to go to Harvard? or should I keep my job and go to NYU part-time?