UC Irvine

aggie42

Howdy from Texas,

I have been accepted to UC Irvine under the auspicious Mathematical, Computational, and Systems Biology program. I am strongly thinking of accepting this offer. The school was very nice when I visited, and there appears to be an unlimited amount of awesome physical activities close to campus. Anyone else thinking of going here?

Hi from Pennsylvania,

Irvine is currently my first choice school...I was accepted into the visual studies program but haven't heard any funding specifics. Unfortunately, I'm ashamed to admit that my life is currently in the hands of the U.S. Navy....I am awaiting to see where my partner gets stationed next before I officially accept the offer. Keeping my fingers, toes, eyes, legs, arms and everything else crossed that we end up on the West Coast.

What are the highlights of the campus/surrounding area?

I am currently an undergrad at UC Irvine, and I must say, I will miss it! If you like physical activities definitely get aquainted with the ARC (the recreation center). They offer a variety of classes from surfing, to sailing, to rock wall climbing. Irvine itself is a quiet community, so if you want to do ANYTHING past 9pm you actually have to leave it to find fun. I recommend Newport Beach, Downtown Fullerton, San Diego, or LA for the nightlife. Laguna Beach and Corona Del Mar are great places to spend a sunny afternoon. Whatever you are into, you'll probably find it nearby. You need a car though, because public transportation is almost non- existant.