Please evaluate my profile

Rush

I want to apply to a school in US for a PhD in Machine Learning / Data Mining. Please give me some suggestion on a schools I should apply to. My profile follows.

Graduated from mid-ranked university in Germany with major Comp. Science. German system grading and academic ranks is a bit different, but you can say that I have a M. Sc. with a GPA of 3.2

GRE: Quant 780, Verb 580, AW 3.0

TOEFL: don't have a score yet but should be ok.

I did my master thesis at a research center of a large multinational corporation. It was related to Data Mining.

Worked during my studies and a year after graduation as a research assistant at my university, however in Image Processing field.

My paper, where I'm a first author was accepted to this conference http://www.icaart.org/ . Topic is Data Mining.

I realize that my profile is probably not strong enough for Stanford or Berkeley, but here is a list of schools I am thinking about.. tell me what you think.

Berkeley

UT Austin

UPenn

UMinnesota Twin Cities

UMichigan Ann Arbor

UMass Amherst

Rennselaer Polytechnical

So, I am looking forward to responses :)

TOEFL Score just came in: 112.

Also I forgot to mention recommendations. One will be my from my supervisor, manager of known research center belonging to university, co-supervisor of my thesis, PhD. One will be from a group leader of corporate research center where I did my thesis, also a co-supervisor, PhD. One from the supervisor of my student project, PhD, currently a PostDoc at CMU.

One from the supervisor of my student project, PhD, currently a PostDoc at CMU.

I am under the impression that letters from postdocs carry little weight during admissions. You may want to find another recommender.

Edited by waddle

• 2 weeks later...