Is it even worth applying?

Applicant13

Hi all,

I am an international student planning on applying for PhDs in Political Theory/IR (my interests are at the intersection of both fields). I have taken the GRE twice and my scores were 780Q/540V/5AW the first time and 800Q/550V/still waiting for AW. I wanted to apply to some top schools (i.e. Harvard and Columbia), because there is almost no one working in my field and the couple professors i could work with are at those universities. However, given the low verbal score, I think it is very unlikely that i get in. So is it even worth applying with those GRE scores?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Hi all,

I am an international student planning on applying for PhDs in Political Theory/IR (my interests are at the intersection of both fields). I have taken the GRE twice and my scores were 780Q/540V/5AW the first time and 800Q/550V/still waiting for AW. I wanted to apply to some top schools (i.e. Harvard and Columbia), because there is almost no one working in my field and the couple professors i could work with are at those universities. However, given the low verbal score, I think it is very unlikely that i get in. So is it even worth applying with those GRE scores?

You need to provide more information if you want anything worthwhile. Is English your first language (important)? How did you do in undergrad? Where did you do undergrad (LSE is different than University of Dar es Salaam - no knock against UDSM intended)?

Performance on the GRE does not entitle one to a rejection or acceptance. Additionally, there is not a hard and fast line to which everyone is held. An acceptable GRE score for a Harvard grad with a letter of recommendation from Gary King is likely lower than that for a student from Northwestern South Dakota College.

Edited by Tufnel

ok, more info: