Can Unofficial Scores be wrong?

bugbear

So I did my GRE today. I got 800V, 650Q.

Now, my Quant score isn't anything special, but for me, completely math-phobic, it's a big accomplishment. The verbal score, on the other hand, is more of an accomplishment from what I understand.

Basically I'm afraid my results are a mistake, a fluke, an error in the CAT algorithm. Could it be? If this happens, how often does it happen?

Don't get me wrong, I studied very hard, but it's almost hard for me to believe I got the exact scores I wanted. I PROMISE this isn't a stealth-bragging post. I'm honestly paranoid that I'll get a call in a few week saying "sorry ur scores are wrong, lol". I'm just so bad at math, and although I studied for 2 months, I was sure that nerves would get the best of me. On the other hand, I was scoring in the 600's on the ETS CAT tests. I got 610, 710, and 610 (I did one of them twice). So I guess it's not that shocking that I got 650. The verbal though...I dunno.

I did the test once before, with nearly no studying whatsoever, and got 720V, 340Q (ugh). So again, I suppose it's not out of the question that I would get what i did. I know this post is insane and just me thinking out loud, but I do genuinely wonder how often the unofficial scores turn out to be a mistake.

Like I said, this honestly isn't a disguised brag about my results thread. It's more of a "I was so anxious about the test for so many months that I literally cannot believe I succeeded". So if you take away anything from it, let it be this: the test can be conquered, it's not beyond you. You will have this moment of profound, almost disbelieving relief too.

Unless it really was just a computer glitch. Then you might be screwed.

This question was covered before many times.