Atypical Applicant: Pathway to Stats PhD?

Hey all,

So, I'm a pretty atypical applicant. I finished my undergraduate degree in 2019, worked for two years, and then enrolled in a JD (top 3 law school) in 2021. I took a leave of absence from the JD in 2022 due to health problems, and I have since been unemployed and unenrolled while sorting out my health problems. During this time, I have rediscovered my interest in math/statistics and now want to pursue a PhD. My question: given my lack of research experience and connections with statistics professors, is a master's degree the only feasible way for me to remedy these deficiencies and become competitive for PhD programs?

Type: Domestic

Undergraduate Institution: UCLA

Degree: Philosophy

Cumulative GPA: 4.0/4.0

GRE: 168V/167Q

Courses Taken (Grade):

- Real Analysis (A)

- Linear Algebra (A)

- Abstract Linear Algebra (A)

- Analysis of Algorithms (A)

- Probability (A)

- Econometrics (A+) 

Research: Nothing significant. I worked as an RA for a law professor doing some data analysis for a few months.

Thanks everyone :)

Edited by moduspwns

The two posters above are correct. A 4.0 from GPA from a top school UCLA and excellent grades in those math classes definitely make you qualified for a PhD program in Statistics. Research experience is a plus, but not having it won't necessarily hurt your application that much.

There is no need for you to get Masters, but if you have the bandwidth and the funds, you could potentially take a few additional upper division math/stat courses as a non-degree seeking student (for example, you took probability but did you take mathematical statistics?). You could take mathematical statistics, optimization, and another math class at a local university. This might further shore up your application as well, but it isn't strictly necessary.