Jumping ship (CS to NE)

towelie

Hi there !

I'm a software developer with a Bachelors degree in Computer Science and Engineering and 5 years of experience in the industry. I'm really good at what I do and programming had been a passion of mine since I was in high school. Over the past couple of years I've had the chance to work at some Tier 1 companies and am currently in a stable job, but I'm burned out. Just the thought of writing code makes me sick now and my job is a major contributor to my declining health. This, apart from the increasingly worsening conditions in the IT industry have made me reassess my long term career goals.

Apart from computers I was also very much into physics when I was younger and I'm thinking of revisiting that old passion of mine. I'm thinking of switching to Nuclear Engineering and I'm willing to put time, effort and money into this, but I'm not really sure of the feasibility of someone with a CS background moving into NE. Is it possible for me to attempt the GRE, take some prerequisites and get into a Masters course ? I'm even willing to go so far as to consider to get into an undergrad program and start all over again. I seriously need some suggestions on what I should do and whether this is even feasible. I've emailed a couple of professors at various universities but got no response.

Help ?

Edited by towelie

I'm even willing to go so far as to consider to get into an undergrad program and start all over again. I seriously need some suggestions on what I should do and whether this is even feasible. I've emailed a couple of professors at various universities but got no response.