All Ye Women

morningbell

I don't know how I was so oblivious--maybe it was the fact so many of my TAs were female when I was an undergraduate--but the academy is incredibly male!

I was just considering my hypothetical dissertation committees at the various schools where I have been admitted, and supposing a committee of four members, I realized that at all schools, save one, my committee would likely be comprised entirely of men.

Anyone have any idea of how the gender demographics in the academy are changing (or not). Does this worry any of the women out there?

I for one have been having some weird fear of success/crises of confidence issues related to my gender, triggered, I think, by my grad school acceptances.

Oops. You're right. My discipline is political science. What is yours?

As an undergraduate, I took maybe 30 classes in maybe 10 departments (the lion's share being political science), and I only ever had four professors who were women. One of these was a political science course, but it was taught by an adjunct. All this is anecdotal, and I'm sure there are actual statistics out there. I've read a lot about why this is and what it has to do with history and continuing challenges w/ respect to pregnancy, child-rearing and getting tenure. I'm just curious if anyone out there feels any apprehension about this, or perhaps has a relevant anecdote to share.

Oops. You're right. My discipline is political science. What is yours?