Undergraduate Univerity and Graduate school

K Ryan

Hello, I am applying to 9 graduate schools, 3 MA programs and 6 PhD programs, for early American including several top schools. My question is how important your undergraduate institution is for the application process.

I attended a California State University that is far from prestigious and I'm concerned that graduate programs might disregard my application simply on this basis.

Other than that my application is very solid 3.96 GPA, 620V, 660Q, 5.5, and a really good writing sample.

Thank You for any feedback

Edited by K Ryan

If you don't mind me asking, where did you apply?

I graduated from a less-than-stellar undergraduate program myself. Eventually, I went on to get an MA first. I don't really think people are going to disregard your application simply because of the reputation of your undergraduate institution. If that were the case, I would have no chance now or before.

That is a pretty heavy list. What kind of LoRs did you have? What was the writing sample?

I guess in the end, no matter what happens this cycle do not feel burdened by the name of your undergraduate institution. If things work out or don't work out, there are a host of other explanations for this. You will get past the Graduate School's cutoff, at the very least.

Doing an MA is a good medium ground too, especially if you can get funding.