Magazine writer and investigative journalist here—Would I be a fool to use journalistic work as a writing sample?

scribblefutz

I'm chatting with professors and current graduate students about this question, and I figured I'd float it here, too. 

I've written analysis, op-eds, and longform stories for newspapers and magazines. Some of that work I'm quite proud of, and a few folks in the academy (a sociology PhD candidate at UCLA, and a prof who got his PhD from Berkeley) seemed to think I should use my finer work as as a writing sample. Would I be a fool to follow their advice? 

I did well for myself in undergrad, where I studied philosophy and virtually nothing else. My most substantial work—a senior thesis that won highest honors (and yet looks atrocious now, having revisited it to much disappointment)—is utterly unmoored from history and its social formations. Not the sort of thing I would like to submit as a sign of my interest or capability. 

I really do think I am stuck between drafting a writing sample from scratch, and submitting journalistic work. If I take the latter route, I do have a piece in mind, one that relied on about 20 interviews, dozens of pages of internal records won through a FOIA request, and a relatively small amount of original textual research, mostly in IRS filings. 

I'd be grateful for anyone's advice. I feel utterly lost (shocker). 

It sounds from your phrasing like you gave these random people a choice of submitting a strong, polished journalism piece or a weak research piece. Obviously polish is better in that case, but that doesn't mean that's better than submitting a strong, polished research piece. Submitting a journalism piece instead of demonstrating an ability to conduct rigorous sociological research will substantially weaken your application. Perhaps you can rewrite one of your articles to make it sociological? Add a literature review, craft a research question and argument, etc.?