Interdisciplinarity: Art History without an AH major (or minor)

NonJeNeRegretteRien

I was curious as to how many people out there pursuing advanced study in art history (either PhD or MA) DO NOT actually possess an undergraduate major or minor in the discipline?

The reason I ask is for a little perspective... and perhaps a reality check. I have an undergraduate degree in anthropology and literature and an MA in philosophy. I'm seriously considering applying to PhD programs in art history even though I only took 3 art historical courses as an undergrad in addition to a bunch of post-grad continuing studies courses.... I also work at an arts institution.

My logic is that I have a strong grounding in critical theory (thanks to my critically-orientated interdisciplinary background), which is an invaluable foundation for someone such as myself who's interested in the social history of art?

Do others have experience with this type of predicament? Level of viability? Thanks!

Moi non plus.

Anyway, what is your area of research in particular? For an MA, if you took "a bunch of post-grad continuing studies courses" in art history I think you should be fine, but if you want to go directly into a PhD program, maybe check out some visual studies programs? Especially if you are interested in social history and identity politics and what have you. I did undergrad at one of the more traditional art history schools and I'm actually trying to branch away from that.

PM me if you want some articles on visual studies.

I was curious as to how many people out there pursuing advanced study in art history (either PhD or MA) DO NOT actually possess an undergraduate major or minor in the discipline?