Unconventional Applicant: Seeking Advice for Ph.D. in Statistics

Hey everyone,

I am what I think would be considered a very unusual applicant. I graduated with a BS in Economics in 2015, worked in banking for a year and then worked odd jobs here and there, as well as took time off to focus on my family and health since then. I also got an MS in Finance online since at the time (2017) I thought I wanted to work in Finance. All my math courses from Calc 1 and up were completed after I graduated starting in 2020 since I always had a loose plan of applying to PHD programs. I am ready to go for and I have two main questions: 1: Am I likely to be a competitive candidate for any reputable Ph.D. statistic programs? 2: What tier of programs should I apply for?

Type: Domestic Hispanic Male

Undergraduate Institution: Florida State

Degree: Economics

Cumulative GPA: 3.6/4.0

---

Graduate Institution: CSU Global

Degree: Finance

Cumulative GPA: 3.6/4.0

GRE: not taken yet

---

Courses Taken (Grade):

- Calc 1,2,3 : A

- Ordinary Differential Equations : A

- Linear Algebra : A

- Intro to Advance Mathematics (intro to proofs)  : A

- Advance Calculus (baby Rudin) : A-

- Numerical Analysis : A-

- Probability : A

- Econometrics : A

Research: None

Letters:  None yet. My plan is to ask math professors who I took past classes with but I don’t expect these to be particularly strong, as most probably do no remember me.

Other Possibly Relevant Info: 

- I got an F in College Algebra my first semester of community college in 2009.

- I recently took classes at a community college to solidify my programming skills within an academic setting: Intro to Programming (A), Objected Oriented Programing (A), and Data Structures and Algorithms (A).

Any advice or feedback is greatly appreciated!

What type of school did you take the math classes at?  Was it an online university?