Grad school can be socially stressful

Archaeologist

My field of study is archaeology.

When I was an undergrad, I was able to socialize with many of my professors. My undergrad research advisor hosted gatherings at her house every month, and I had the opportunity to attend and mingle with faculty and grad students. I always thought that I would do fine in grad school. The anthropology department had many grad students and many professors. I made many good friends in that department. Academics was a smooth ride, and I think it came with the great social atmosphere. I finished my undergrad with a senior thesis.

I got accepted into a master's program, and little did I know, the grad life I accepted was not what I excepted.

My advisor is the only professor in the program. There are a few other lecturers. A few of the other lectures quit before I arrived to my first semester.

There are a few other grad students to socialize with. There are 4 including me. My cohort is an ass.

I've been a grad student for a year, and not once has there ever been any kind of grad student/faculty gathering. The few friends I have made at my new home, are undergrads. My girlfriend whom I met at my new home, is an undergrad. It doesn't bother me that I hang out with undergrads. Its just that I wish there were good people who share similar academic interests as me.

I hardly communicate with my advisor. He has insulted the school I did my undergrad at, some of my professors at that school, and my colleagues at that school. And me.

The academic work is not stressful at all, even though my classes are unorganized and unstructured. I have made A's so far. I spend as little time on school work as possible.

I have grown lethargic to this scene because of the scene.