How to pay for visiting days?

lydibird

I've been accepted to several schools who have invited me to attend visiting days. I'm still an undergrad with almost no money, and while I want to attend I just don't know how I'll afford it.

I've spoken to two schools about my dilemma, and they said that they could pay for a hotel and food, but none are able to pay for my airfare. I don't think this is unusual for my field, but it is frustrating. I'm still waiting on one more school, too, and if accepted I expect I'll want to attend their visiting days as well.

Has anyone had any luck finding alternative ways to pay for these visits? I could probably afford to attend one of these visiting days out of my pocket, but how could I choose which one?

1) drive your hybrid or diesel car.

2) ask your parents, significant others, etc. for money

3) ask your undergrad dept chair

4) ask your alumni association

5) get an american express card - so you get points for your $ spent....or get an airline's credit card so you get points (maybe enough to get trip 3)

6) stop spending so much money on booze

7) narrow down your school choices

8) take out extra student loans in the fall to pay off your airfare charges.

I've been accepted to several schools who have invited me to attend visiting days. I'm still an undergrad with almost no money, and while I want to attend I just don't know how I'll afford it.

I've spoken to two schools about my dilemma, and they said that they could pay for a hotel and food, but none are able to pay for my airfare. I don't think this is unusual for my field, but it is frustrating. I'm still waiting on one more school, too, and if accepted I expect I'll want to attend their visiting days as well.

Has anyone had any luck finding alternative ways to pay for these visits? I could probably afford to attend one of these visiting days out of my pocket, but how could I choose which one?

2) ask your parents, significant others, etc. for money