Harvard Earth & Planetary Sciences/Yale Geology

planetparker

The Earth Sciences forum is pretty quiet so I thought it better to post here - I can see there have been a few results posted for Harvard Earth & Planetary Sciences now (and also Yale Geology & Geophysics). I applied to both and got the rejection from Yale last Friday by email (yet to find out exactly why), still waiting for my rejection notification from Harvard which I assume is winging its way to me across the pond by postal service which is why it is taking a bit longer to get here.

I was just wondering what the backgrounds are of my fellow applicants if any of you are willing to share details off the results forum (which I don't think is the best place to do it)? I don't know anyone else who is applying for a PhD/in these areas, so it is hard to judge whether I am wasting my time or in with some small chance!

My background is non-traditional: first degree from Cambridge University about 20 years' ago in Archaeology with high GPA when converted, then 17 years' work experience in investment banking, recent undergrad classes in geology (Distinctions) and will finish this second degree this year. GRE was not good, only 600 Q and 640 V, 5.0 AW, but I will take it again this year for the next application season. LORs are from my old professors, which are good but relate to a different subject. Of course no recent research experience or publications, so I probably didn't stand much of a chance. I am planning to do a Masters next year if I can afford it to redress these problems.

Commiserations to those who got rejected as well, and congratulations to those who did get in (haven't seen many on this board though).:unsure:

Hello!