My useless BFA -- will it ruin my chance?

kitt kat

I graduated in May of 2010 with a BFA degree (in writing) from a top 25 school. I openly admit to everyone that I loved my college -- so much so that I am actually in the process of applying to an MA program at the same school as we speak. (Odd application date, I know; it's due on Saturday.)

However, I hated my undergraduate program. So. Much.

For those not arts-savvy, a BFA differs from a BA in that over 75% of your college coursework is practice-intensive. I had no tests to study for, no papers to impress teachers with, no pop quizzes, no meaningless reading assignments. My "homework" was to go home, sit in front of a computer for several hours and write whatever the hell I wanted. Sounds great, right? Hah! Wrong.

When your "academic" work is based on a creative endeavor and not actual academics, the grading is shady; one semester, you'll be placed with a teacher who loves your style, your voice and your ideas -- only to be stuck with a professor who loathes everything about you the next. I'm not trying to make excuses for myself here and I am hoping that someone from a similar background can attest to these discrepancies between traditional degrees and arts-based programs.

When traditional classes were concerned, I excelled, naturally. A's and the occasional B+ across the board, professors who adored me, etc.

I couldn't switch majors because my parents wouldn't allow it. So, I picked up a minor and now I am left with a degree that, I think, ruined my academic career forever.

I'm applying to graduate school in hopes of redeeming myself and having that bookish experience I missed out on with the intention of later picking up a PhD in Musicology -- hopefully from UCLA, since I don't want to leave Los Angeles just yet.