Stanford EE Masters Fellowship

jscr

Hi all,

I have an offer to enter Masters in EE at Stanford, and I'm waiting for an offer of financial aid.

Does anyone know how much the 1 year fellowship stipend is? Not the 3 year one for PhD students, but the 1 year one for Masters students.

Thanks

Stanford EE never gives fellowships to MS students. I know the wording of the acceptance email makes it sound like you just have to wait but this is how it works in practice.

1. A few nominated students get 3-year graduate fellowships from the university (not the department).

2. Then the EE department gives 1st year fellowships to a few students.

3. Stanford then waits for these students to decide if they will come to Stanford or go somewhere else.

4. Those that decide to go elsewhere free up fellowship offers that are given to PhD students that didn't get one in the first round.

Both the 1-year and 3-year fellowships are only for PhD students and truth is that even the majority of their PhD students are NOT funded the first year. 0% of the MS students are funded by the university or the department. The only financial aid is through external fellowships or employer funding (and there may be some extremely rare cases of students knowing faculty and getting RA/TA). The purpose of the MS-only program is to make money for Stanford through tuition. It's sad that Stanford is not honest about this and instead carefully lies to students and gives them hope for financial aid.

Are you sure about that? The e-mail says "Recipients receive 8-10 units of tuition per quarter and a quarterly stipend, usually for up to 3 quarters", which doesn't sound like it could apply to to PhD students ("units" is surely referring to coursework...?). Also I'm pretty sure I remember talking to an academic who knows students that went there, and said that they got a Fellowshop for their first year of Masters and then got money in the second year by a Teaching Assistantship.