forgive my ignorance(Cultural Geography)

biggspc

Hi all. I am a cultural anthropology undergrad who is very interested in pursuing a PhD. However, I'd like to do my graduate work in something that wouldn't force me to be a professor. Geography sounds interesting, but unfortunately my school doesn't offer any geography outside a GIS course. I'm still kind of confused as to what separates cultural geography from cultural anthropology. Would anyone be kind enough to enlighten me about your wonderful field? also, how is the job market for cultural geographers?

Hello, I don't consider myself a cultural geographer, but I have some background in it and have taken a few classes in cultural geography. I can tell you about the basic things cultural geographers study:

-Globalization: How has globalization effected the cultures of various areas. With information traveling faster than ever (TV, internet, etc.) this has an effect on popular culture throughout the world. Trends started in one country can catch on in another almost instantly (music, fashion, video games). Another good example is food. Almost every large city in the world has a McDonalds and other fast food places. Globalization also brings ethnic foods to places as well (think of the number of Chinese/Indian/Mexican/etc. restaurants found in the U.S.)

-Cultural assimilation: When people immigrate from one place to another, what traditions do they keep from their homeland, and which ones do they change to the culture of their new home? Also, when large numbers of immigrants from one specific area to another specific area, it can have an effect on the surrounding culture (for example Chinatown in various large cities).

-Religion: Religion can have huge impacts on the culture of areas such as clothing, food, entertainment, architecture, etc.