Letters of Rec and Community College Profs

Hi All,

I just wanted to leave a note here in case anybody else ends up in my position.

I graduated from my MA in 2002, and left to travel the world. When I started thinking about going back to grad school in 2006, I recontacted the profs from my graduate committee. They all declined. Every single one. They didn't remember me, they had retired from academic, they were too busy....blah, blah, blah. I started trying other professors, but it had just been too long. I could only get one person to agree, and she was my teaching assistantship supervisor, rather than a prof I'd worked with. It wasn't ideal, but I was grateful. That left two spots vacant, and no ideas. I ended up not applying, because I was so discouraged by the whole LOR situation.

Fast forward to 2010. I decided the only way to fulfill my dream meant getting LOR the hard way. So I enrolled in 4 community college courses, going to school full time for just one semester. I figured I'd choose 2 of my four profs, the ones I liked the most and who might be sympathetic to my plight. I did everything I could to excel in those classes, often offering to help them with outside projects. It worked out.

Now, a lot of people say you shouldn't get LORs from community college profs, and that major universities will not look at you if you do. That is NOT TRUE. I was accepted into grad school this year, despite having community college profs do my LOR. I explained my situation in my SOP, and now I finally get to do what I want to do. So I guess I just wanted to tell people not to get discouraged by LOR. For me, getting LOR was the hardest part of the whole process!

Oh, I also recommend giving your profs a portfolio of your work, a CV, and other information, especially if they haven't had time to get to know you that well. I also kept my recommenders informed whenever I published anythting, so they felt part of my application process.

Good luck!