Northeastern vs UT Austin

Paws

Field of interest: Complex Networks, Nonlinear Dynamics.

I am an International student, headed to the USA for the first time in my life directly after my undergraduate studies.

I am not sure if I would want to remain in academia after PhD. I'm interested in the work by Center for Complex Networks Research (CCNR) at Northeastern, which is quite interdisciplinary. The center is headed by a "big" professor (which means research funding should not be an issue). I feel a PhD there will open up more options after graduate studies for a career in industry, while not hurting the possibility of continuing with research. UT Austin is ranked really high but the work in the nonlinear dynamics group seems to be more towards the academic side. The physics department at UT Austin is quite huge, and I dont really want to get stuck in a place where things are too impersonal and formal. I have been offered TA at both places and there is hardly anything to choose between both places when it comes only to the pay.

Another thing I am considering is the location: Boston vs Austin. Comparisons between weather, music scene (I'm more of a jazz music fan), sporting activities for fitness, diversity and an overall liberal outlook are things I'm looking for. Any suggestions, comments pertaining to the above would be extremely helpful

Cheers!

Paws

I know nothing about Physics but it sounds like you like the program at Northeastern better. I just graduated from UT-Austin last semester and I can tell you that it is definitely a research university, at least from what I have seen in other departments. If being able to find a job in an industry setting is important to you, the connections you can make at Northeastern might make that the better choice.