3rd Year Undergrad. here.

Hey there,

I was directed here from my friend who just got accepted to a grad. school in Michigan and have been lurking for a little while. I finally have the courage to actually post something. Haha.

So I'm a 3rd year undergraduate at UC Irvine studying Anthro (of course) and am so intimidated by everything that is grad. school. I know I want to go for sure, but I'm so scared of not getting in anywhere, not being competitive enough, etc.

I'm very much interested in cultural anthropology (maybe studying gossip?) and the only school I've really looked into is SFSU. I have a little above a 3.0 GPA and I haven't taken the GRE yet. Lots to do!

So I was wondering if you kind people had any sort of advice at all? I know this is such a random and maybe stupid post, but anything would be magnificently appreciated. Thank you! :)

• 11 months later...

my best advise to you is:

*narrow down what your interests are - what do most of your classes lean toward? (Include the ones you chose for GenEd AND liked)

*read as much classic anth as possible, pepper it with some contemporary ethnography. Your professors can prob give you a sug. or two. *start using these theories, they will pop up in all of your Anth classes in one way or another.

*get to know each of the 4 fields ALSO get experience in Methods/Theory/Area courses

*set yourself up with an internship. Commitments count! 3 months during the summer is not enough!

*set up some type of research proposal and apply for your schools undergrad research funding.

*Go see your professors during their office hours. Find out about their research.

* Work on another language. Have you already taken a ton of Spanish? Try a language from a part of the world you're interested in.

then the obvious: research schools, network, raise your grades, gre.