HELP!!Choice between Stanford and Stony Brook

Hi

I am an international student. I have been offered MS Stats at Stanford and SUNY SB. Stanford is rank one stats and SUNY SB is rank ten in applied maths programs. Cal and NY are both hub of stats and quant related jobs. The catch is that although I spend 60k/year at Stan, I spend 28k/per year at SUNY. Its almost half the dollars!!!The job prospects dont seem very different although the difference is in the brand name. Please help me decide. I have to reply back by 15 April!!

Edited by Paa_Ratt

What program did you get into at SB was it the MS in statistics. If that is a case reject it, since SB has no reputation in statistics, and stanford has a fantastic reputation in statistics. Stanfords program looks good, it allows for taking a lot of electives in fields other than statistics. Even if you got into their applied math MS, i would probably still reject it but of course it depends on what you want to do as a career. Applied math and statistics are different fields.

Yea SB is not top 10 in applied math and has no statistics whatsoever, I mean none. I'm not sure how these applied math rankings work but check their faculty page course page and it's pretty clear. Since you're paying anyway you might as well pay for a brandname over an unknown. no one outside of long island has even heard of SB, and you'll meet similar employers in NYC even. If you just want to get into finance then do SB. If you're actually interested in statistics go stanford and you can still land a fantastic job. Hedge funds are blooming in LA.