Applied Math BA to Biostatistic

To get into a decent MS program. The only required math is generally Calc I, II, and III, diff eq, and linear algebra. It is recommended that you know at least one programming language, but it surprisingly not required to have taken a statistics course (although it is highly recommended). Obviously decent grades in math/CS classes are essential, but admissions committees in Biostats also place a heavy emphasis on communications skills. Depending on the university, good grades in the MS is usually adequate preparation for a PhD with the exception of an additional course or two in real analysis.

I have a bachelor's in applied mathematics - no real analysis course taken. What would I need to do to get into a decent MS Biostatistics program and from there, maybe a PhD program?

You don't need real analysis or CS coursework to be accepted to an MS or PhD program, that's for sure. I don't even have a math degree and I was accepted to a few decent schools. I think the best bit of advice is to write your personal statement so that it reflects a deep passion for Biostatistics and how it can be used as a tool to prevent/treat human disease. Good grades and a decent GRE score are important but keep in mind that the people you are competing with for admission will have these traits as well. That's why it's essential that you use your personal statement to set you apart from other applicants. Have you somehow, perhaps through experience of some kind, demonstrated your interest in Biostatistics? I think this is important as well.

Thank you both of you. My undergraduate grades are not so great due to life circumstances and immaturity. I never went to class or studied, only crammed. I have calculus, linear algebra, and diff eq, but the grades are A, C, A, C+, D respectively. I also have probability theory, math statistics and applied prob and stat, with grades C+, A, B.