MA Educational Psychology -> PhD Educational Measurement

Junetastic

Hello! Here are my basic undergrad stats:

3.1 cumulative GPA / somewhere between 3.7-3.9 Psychology GPA

GRE 1290 (550v/740q)

Two letters of recommendations

Two poster presentations

Tons of research xp

Not very strong, which was why I chose a safe graduate program in Educational Psychology. Now here's my dilemma:

I'm about to complete my first year of a two-year program, and I do not have a thesis prepared. I have some ideas but nothing concrete. This is a terminal master's program that culminates in either a thesis or a comprehensive examination. I am seriously considering testing out because:

1) I do not like the program very much. I'm very much more interested in measurement, and it took a year in this program to come to that conclusion (actually I graduated from my undergrad institution with a love for stats and psychometrics but wanted to see if educational psychology would work)..

2) It doesn't seem likely that I will complete a thesis in the 2-year period of my program. I desperately want out.

Now, I've talked to a number of professors here and at my undergrad and get conflicting messages. One professor told me that if this program wasn't for me that I should apply elsewhere regardless of whether I finish this program. My advisor and mentor have both told me that a thesis is the route I need to take. Another professor told me that not having a thesis wouldn't hurt my chances, but I'm assuming that it would help.

So far I haven't done much in my program except work with my advisor on some program evaluation reports and literature reviews. My GPA is solid. I will have TA experience next semester. I'm just lacking research experience so far, which is very unfortunate.

How's my outlook for getting into a funded PhD program in educational measurement (aka psychometrics aka quantitative methods ...)?

Thanks!

Hello! Here are my basic undergrad stats: