MAT vs M.Ed

supertouch

can someone please explain the difference? i'm aware that the MAT is more of a hybrid of the subject matter you plan on teaching and educational methods classes, and that the M.Ed is mainly or more focused educational methods...

i'm a young teacher and would like to have an evolving career.....after 10 or maybe even 15 years of teaching in the class on the secondary level i'd like to see myself teaching in a university or working as an administrator...

i've been told a mix of things about the "pathway to the Ed.D or PhD".....some have said that if you start off w/ an MAT that you will need to go back and get your Ed.M is you have plans of evolving your career into the university level or administration...

i don't mind going back as I received my MAT for free...i'm just curious what more experienced people would have to say.......for example, would it be strange if received my MAT and then 2 or 3 years later received an Ed.M?

And, do some people receive two Ed.M's depending on what their original Ed.M specialized in?

just curious....very curious....

Hi Super,

I had to make the M.A.T. vs. M.Ed. choice a few years ago when I was working toward certification. As you’ve said, the M.A.T. means that you’ve focused more on your subject area, while the M.Ed. seems to be more focused on education generally.

I chose the M.A.T. My sense is that it really doesn’t make too much of a difference. I ended up taking more classes than my M.Ed. colleagues – I was required to take the same education courses in addition to more subject area courses. I’m glad with my choice – it really gave me a chance to dig into my subject area at the grad. level before teaching.

I’m starting a Ph.D. program this fall, and I’m not sure that my application would’ve been received much differently had I done the M.Ed. instead. This seems a really small factor in comparison to letters, GPA, GRE, etc. etc.

Hopefully someone else can confirm my sense of this.