Should I go to CSU Fresno for IR???

Anteaters

I applied to UCSB, UCSD, and CSU Fresno for IR. I only got into CSU Fresno due to my relatively poor academic record (2.8 GPA). My question is whether it's worth it to get an MA in IR at a school like CSU Fresno since prestige matters in this field. Also, what would my job prospects be like if I graduated with an MA in IR from CSU Fresno? Thanks in advance.

Given your undergrad GPA, it's probably your best shot. You'll need to do so incredibly well in the M.A. (3.9+) that a) your M.A. faculty will write very strong letters when you apply again to Ph.D. programs, and B) the grad GPA will give search committees a reason to downplay your undergrad grades. If your GREs are strong, an equally strong showing with the M.A. should make you competitive down the road for Ph.D. programs.

I applied to UCSB, UCSD, and CSU Fresno for IR. I only got into CSU Fresno due to my relatively poor academic record (2.8 GPA). My question is whether it's worth it to get an MA in IR at a school like CSU Fresno since prestige matters in this field. Also, what would my job prospects be like if I graduated with an MA in IR from CSU Fresno? Thanks in advance.

Anteaters, I'm assuming you're coming from UC Irvine? :) Also, is there a reason you're limited to Southern California programs?

As far as graduate school goes, going for the MA at Fresno State seems like the right play. Assuming you're paying in-state tuition, the debt you'll take on for the MA is not that significant in the long run.

For your job prospects, the MA should make you more employable for white-collar work in general, but I think you will also need some relevant work experience in public policy or a similar area to be competitive for that type of work.

Anteaters, I'm assuming you're coming from UC Irvine? :) Also, is there a reason you're limited to Southern California programs?