Am i eligible?

supriyasingh

Hi,

I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I recently took the GRE and got a cumulative score of 1390.

The scores for Analytical writing part are still awaited. I hold a bachelors degree in Electrical Engineering (from a premier institute) and i have been working for three years now. From quite a few months the desire to change my field has gathered momentum. I have been very much interested in the fields of anthropology and archaeology from my undergrad days, and so i wish to apply for masters program (fall 2009) and then subsequently for PhD in the field of anthropology. My dilemma is about my eligibility for applying to this particular field. I have no prior background and my undergraduate major was totally unrelated (with no relevant electives either). I therefore seek advice on whether i am eligible to apply or not. If not,then do i have to assume that this is the end of the road or is there a possibility of any other alternative?

I would be really very grateful to anyone who can help me in my dilemma.

Thank you in advance.

Anthropology is a large field with many specialities. First you need to figure what path down Anthro you want to take, whether it be linguistic, archaeology, cultural, or otherwise. You did indicate archaeology. Next, get a listing that lists schools that offer your Anthro field. Choose the ones you are interested in based on potential fit, then look at their admissions requirements.

If there are further questions, then just contact the department and ask to speak with the director of admissions or something to explain your case. And when writing your statement of purpose, you may want to explain the career change decision and how your engineering skills are transferable to Anthropology. Good luck.