Finding the right program.

brianmc

Hey everyone,

Everyone hear knows how exhausting it is to research schools and try to find somewhere that you might fit in and even thrive. I thought maybe we could share information to help one another possibly find the programs where we should apply, where there are faculty that might think and/or work like us.

I'll start. I'm an image maker. I work from my imagination, not life. I am interested in formal concerns as well as narrative and social commentary. I am interested in studying printmaking in grad school, but I am also a painter. The medium isn't as important to me as the images I am making. I could work by drawing with a stick in the dirt if I had to. My biggest influences/favorite work are the late figurative work of Philip Guston, later figurative work of Carrol Dunham (I know he teaches at Yale or somewhere I can't afford to go), Max Beckman's triptychs. I also enjoy Lari Pittman's work more for the narrative than the way of working (love it, but I'm a little more loosie goosie), I like Goya's social commentative works, and things like Daumier's Third Class Carriage are always creeping out of my sub-conscious.

From all of the digging I've done I've found a guy named Michael Miller at SAIC whose work I like and feel I would like to study with, but I'm sort of on a state school budget. I'll apply there just incase, but does anyone have any ideas? Have you come across anyone in your travels, visits, research, or know of any schools where my work might fit. Thanks in advance.

Oh yeah. My work looks like this...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/brianmcart/

Brian Mc

Hey,

Cool prints!

I don't know much about printmaking but I've heard MassArt (I went for undergrad) has a really amazing printshop.

I'm researching sculpture programs now and I'm looking at UT-Knoxville because they offer amazing funding. I saw them listed on someone's top print programs list...

C

Hey everyone,