What are my chances?

fallingup77

I'm new to the gradcafe and have really enjoyed and benefited from many of the posts.

I was hoping that I might receive some feedback concerning my chances/options for PhD studies in Sociology.

My stats:

B.A. in Religion (3.86 gpa) from a small, relatively unknown private univ

Master of Divinity (3.5 gpa) from a well known, larger private univ.

GRE: 620 Verbal/ 600 Quant/ 4 AW

I have no research experience directly related to Sociology, but I hope to study Sociology of Religion, which would fit nicely with my Master's degree and experience working in churches and non-profits.

These are the schools I am considering applying to:

CUNY, NYU, Stony Brook, New School, Northeastern, Brandeis, Rutgers, Boston Univ, Loyola Chicago

On a separate issue, I am worried about my religious background and how it will appear on my application. My undergrad and graduate schools were both Baptist, and I fear that this will automatically label me as a conservative, fundamentalist, which is definitely not the case. Should I worry about this? Should I discuss this issue in my SOP?

Thanks so much for any thoughts.

I'm new to the gradcafe and have really enjoyed and benefited from many of the posts.

I was hoping that I might receive some feedback concerning my chances/options for PhD studies in Sociology.

My stats:

I have no research experience directly related to Sociology, but I hope to study Sociology of Religion, which would fit nicely with my Master's degree and experience working in churches and non-profits.

CUNY, NYU, Stony Brook, New School, Northeastern, Brandeis, Rutgers, Boston Univ, Loyola Chicago