Dual Degree Programs MSW/J.D.

jmaung

Hi all,

I graduated June 2010 with majors in psychology and sociology, took some time to travel, and am currently working as a behavior therapist in San Francisco. I always thought I would end up in the field of social work (it seems to fit my values, personality, training and interests) but was more recently introduced to some joint J.D./MSW programs that seem really interesting. If I were to go into law, I would definitely want to go into the public interest sector and especially want to work with children and families.

So, for now, I'm studying my GREs and plan to also take my LSATs in October since I need to apply to social work and law programs.

My question is, is there anyone else in the same boat as me or with the same interests? Better yet, do you know anybody that has done this kind of dual degree program and what kind of work they are pursuing or doing now?

Any kind of help, mentorship, or advice would be appreciated. I feel like I'm drowning a bit in this whole process...

• 2 months later...

Hi! I am also a recent grad interested in MSW/JD programs...The process is a bit overwhelming but i think it will be worth it. I have taken the LSAT already and I am opting out of the GRE since most social work schools don't require it but good luck its tough to take so many tests!

i want to do a dual degree so I have the tools to not just advocate for traditionally under or misrepresented groups but also so I can empower others to advocate for themselves and provide them with the tools/resources they need to reach their goals.