BioMEMS in the USA

damnedghost

Hi. I am interested in the subject of BioMEMS.

I'm a third year undergrad in Biotechnology so, have nothing but a decent background in the basic sciences (from the common courses that are required).

Now, I still have a year to go for making a final concrete decision. What I want to know is, whether I should hunt for an MS program or a PhD program in the field of BioMEMS?

I'm interested in the field because of

1. Using my biotechnology/life sciences background IN ENGINEERING
  2. BioMEMS is heavy on creativity like any other MEMS
  3. Opportunities as an entrepreneur, especially in India.
Now, the roadblocks are:

1. No extraordinary GPA - 7.05 on a ten point scale
  2. No research experience
  3. The field is very specific and might not serve the purpose if I do the program from just any other school!
What could be the road ahead? I have a few more things on mind, but will bring them up if the discussion goes any further!

Hi therealwinster,

I'm a senior undergrad in BME. I'm going to be doing a Masters at Columbia this Fall in BioMEMS/microfluidics.

I have looked into this question for a long time: Should I get an M.S. or a Ph.D.?

The answer is really up to you. What kind of work do you want to do in the end?

Some things to consider:

• With an M.S. you learn about a broad range of topics within the field and research a bit into a certain problem. With a Ph.D. you research incredibly in-depth into a single problem and become an expert on it over a long time.
  • The merit of having an M.S. is that you can finish and start working earlier. The merit of having a Ph.D. is that you have an incredibly rich background behind you when you finish and you will have a slightly higher salary.
  • An M.S. is only 1-2 years whereas a Ph.D. is 5-6 years.
  • A Ph.D. really requires you to be incredibly committed. It is generally looked down upon to leave halfway with a Masters.