Dual MFA/MA?

ChaiLatte

Hi guys ~

I was wondering if any one here is currently enrolled in a dual MFA/MA program (for Fine Arts/ Art History) or thinking of applying to one. I am an abstract painter and art historian browsing through programs. My goal is to become an art historian, but I want to push my painting further. There appear to be some MFA/MA programs listed online, but I haven't been able to find many. Most of them are on the west coast. Does anyone know where I could find a comprehensive list of programs? Any outside the west coast? Or ... is is this an uncommon route to take? Anyone have strong views on the topic?

Thanks in advance!

It's true that dual degrees of MA/MFA are mostly on the West Coast, though NYU offers dual degrees such as MBA/MFA for people who may want to go into art administration.

If you would like to go into teaching Art History, perhaps it's better to develop strong research skills in Art History. This is because you are a painter already and you can practise your painting even apart from academic activity, but there is a significant difference between creating works of art and teaching/researching/critiquing works of art from a historical perspective. The latter requires specific kinds of analytical skills that can be acquired only through graduate educational training. This will demand significant time, energy and patience from you. Hence, perhaps it will be better for you to get a strong academic training in Art History while continuing to practise your painting.