MFA/MA (art hist) dual degree?

ChaiLatte

Hi guys ~

I was wondering if any one here is currently enrolled in a dual MFA/MA program (for Fine Arts/ Art History) or thinking of applying to one. I am an abstract painter and art historian browsing through programs. My goal is to become an art historian, but I want to push my painting further. There appear to be some MFA/MA programs listed online, but I haven't been able to find many. Most of them are on the west coast. Does anyone know where I could find a comprehensive list of programs? Any outside the west coast? Or ... is is this an uncommon route to take? Anyone have strong views on the topic?

Thanks in advance!

(ps. I posted this in the art forum as well)

Hi guys ~

I was wondering if any one here is currently enrolled in a dual MFA/MA program (for Fine Arts/ Art History) or thinking of applying to one. I am an abstract painter and art historian browsing through programs. My goal is to become an art historian, but I want to push my painting further. There appear to be some MFA/MA programs listed online, but I haven't been able to find many. Most of them are on the west coast. Does anyone know where I could find a comprehensive list of programs? Any outside the west coast? Or ... is is this an uncommon route to take? Anyone have strong views on the topic?

Thanks in advance!

(ps. I posted this in the art forum as well)

I think the School of the Art Institute of Chicago might let you do both... Otherwise, that's pretty unheard of. I was debating doing the same thing a few years ago and it just seems like you have to make a decision. You can always do both, but I think one will eventually have to become more of a priority. I think some MFA programs let you minor in Art History or take a lot of coursework in it, and I'm sure some MA Art History programs let you take studio courses.