Strategy for choosing schools to apply to

ridgey

Hi,

Right now there are about 12 PhD programs I am seriously considering. For financial reasons, I don't want to send more than 7 applications. 5 of the schools are ranked in the top 20 (US News), 4 of those are top 10.

My application will be strong in general I think: SoP and LoRs, writing sample, relevant research experience. I take the GRE later this month and am aiming for 700-750 on both sections. My GPA is my weakness - a genuine weakness, not like those folk who complain about their "horrible" 3.8. I'm an international student so there is no exact conversion, but degree 1 + 2 is about 3.1, degree 3 is 3.7, degree 4 is in progress, won't have any grades to report before applications.

So, if I'm only making 7 applications, I don't think I have the numbers to justify having 4 of those at top 10 programs. Schools 1, 2, and 3 are ridiculously competitive (2-5% acceptance). Schools 2, 3 and 4 have an incredibly appealing structure for their coursework, allowing a minor in a related discipline, which is ideal as my research interests are at the juncture of the discipline. Only School 1 has any faculty doing research that is exactly what I'm interested in, the others have poeple using realted methodology but different topics, or looking at the same topics but with completely different methodology. School 4 is at a uni where there are interdisciplinary research centres that do work I'm interested in.

Is it more important to match EXACTLY with faculty research interests? Or is matching the overall "vibe" of the program sufficient to convince admissions committees of fit?

If you were me, where would you apply?