Making decision re: summer research

gellert

I've been in contact with two of my POIs about the possibility of working as a volunteer in their labs over the summer. Both responded.

POI A: No positions open, but likes my research interests and CV and wants to meet me (he'll be in my area in late May). Said he'd have his lab coordinator get in contact with me about maybe finding an opening this summer, but I never heard anything from her.

POI B: Responded favorably to my initial email and said there were positions open, but I haven't heard from him since I sent my CV. Sent a follow-up email a few days ago, no response. (Note: I have a lot of research experience in his area and go to a good school, so right now I'm not thinking the problem is that my CV was disappointing and more that it's a him-being-busy thing. He's pretty famous and it's around exam time, plus he took a long time to respond to me the first time -- though he's exceeded the previous delay by two weeks now. So maybe it's just a matter of waiting it out.)

I also have the option of staying in my area and working at my home lab over the summer preparing my honor's thesis, or working in my home lab as well as doing work in a different lab that is only tangentially related to my interests but pays well.

I can also write to POI C, D, or E about whether they have openings in their labs this summer.

So right now what I'm trying to decide is:

Do I wait to hear back from POI B before writing to C, D, or E? Do I wait until after meeting with A in hopes that he might make an exception for me for the summer? Or do I go ahead and contact one of my other POIs before it gets too late in the semester?