F-1 Visa Interview Help Needed

HI,

I have been offered admission at SUNY stonybrook ece department. Since they had a very short deadline for submitting financial documents I had to get affidavit of financial support from a relative who is residing in the US. But I applied for visa I hope to get an education loan to fund me instead of my relative.So SUNY's I-20 is going to show financial support from a relative residing in the US. Now in the VISA interview, will this issue of relative (living in the USA) funding me for my education become a problem? Has anyone done it here in this forum before? Please HELP ME!!

Thanks

I did my Masters' in usa and I had educational loan and I am sure that I-20 does not show ur funding info. it would only state expected expenses. atleast my i-20 does not show tat am being supported by bank.

hope it helps.

From what I understand you need to show proof of your finances at your interview (and again, at the airport). So they would be able to see where your money is coming from (at least, where you say your money is coming from - i.e. the relative).

I don't know how this will impact your interview, sorry!

Hi Karthich,

I am also heading to the US this fall and received my I-20 some weeks back. It does have mention of both - break up of college expenses and student's means of support. My suggestion to you is: Why not show both the sources of income in your visa interview. It will only make your case stronger. Also, be truthful in your interview and tell them you applied for the bank loan later.

All the best!

My suggestion to you is: Why not show both the sources of income in your visa interview. It will only make your case stronger.