ASNaC (Anglo-Saxon, Norse, and Celtic Studies)

Ethersworn

I am a rising sophomore undergraduate at the USouth Carolina majoring in Medieval Studies (interdisciplinary studies) and am dead set on getting into the ASNaC program at Cambridge.

Can anyone here tell me anything about the acceptance rate at this program?

I have a 4.0 GPA and am starting my first research project 1st semester sophomore year on the Prose Edda and the attitude toward the old gods.

By application time I will have the following languages:

Latin (4 years)

German (3 years)

Old English (1 year)

Norse (1 year)

Can anyone help me direct my desire to be accepted into this program?

With those statistics, I think you have as good a shot as anyone. That being said, without British citizenship you will struggle to get funding as funding for American students is very, very limited even at Oxbridge.

Are you talking about the Mphil or the PhD? or both?

With those statistics, I think you have as good a shot as anyone. That being said, without British citizenship you will struggle to get funding as funding for American students is very, very limited even at Oxbridge.

Are you talking about the Mphil or the PhD? or both?

Thanks for your reply.

Hrmm, is there any solution to the citizenship problem? I guess I am talking about both, but primarily the PhD.

Thanks for your reply.

Hrmm, is there any solution to the citizenship problem? I guess I am talking about both, but primarily the PhD.

You can check with the department to see what scholarships are available to American students. The route around "citizenship" is permanent residency, but you can really only get that if you lived there for more than 4 years, and working full-time, not as a student. Or if your parents work there and you are in the country as a dependent.